Acumin Documentation

Duplicate Matter for the same Client

QUESTION: What options do we have when the same matter is opened twice, the user creates a duplicate matter for the same client?

 

ANSWER: When the same matter is opened twice - the user creates a duplicate matter for the same client – there are several options to rectify the situation dependent on matter status.

If the matter has the status temporary, the authorized users can select the option “Destroy” from within the right-click contextual menu of the temporary matters list view.

If the matter has the status active, it can be closed. Once it is closed it is set with the status released or destroyed (post close action). In both cases an explanation of what happened is added to the matter’s description field and post-close logs as a reason. Some firms prefer to reuse the matter. In this case, from within matter properties the matter object can be transferred to a new client, at which point the matter properties content is modified to fulfill the needs of the new matter for the other client.