QUESTION:
What is the business Logic of the default filter for invoice status and invoice ownership in the Show Invoice Detail filter form and listview?
RESPONSE:
Access from the “Invoices” button in the “Activities” task bar section or custom tool bar: The default position of the status filter for the “Show Invoice Detail” form is set in context of the invoice preparation workflow being the most relevant use-case. The “Show Invoice Detail” filtered results is the equivalent of the working checklist for invoice prepares participating in the invoice preparation process from start to finish - status created to posted and sent. As a result, when accessing the form directly for the “Activities” task bar section “Invoices” button, or from the custom tool bar, the default filter for status is intentionally set to “Unposted & Posted not Sent” on the expectation that it is most desirable for users to move invoices in-progress to the “Posted & Sent” status, therefore eliminating the requirement for additional filter selections. For additional context and to facilitate wanted next actions, the default list of results is limited to the top 50 invoices with status unposted or posted not sent, owned by the logged-in user. Regardless of the default filter position, if an invoice number is entered then the invoice will list regardless of status or invoice ownership – that decision takes precedence.
Access from the “Invoices” button in the Client Matter dashboard: If accessed from the “Invoices” button in the client-matter dashboard the default is “Posted & Sent” on the expectation that the user is drilling through for details on already completed invoices which are not awaiting an action.
Access from the “To-Bill” tab right click contextual menu: If accessed from the to-bill tab results, the “Show Invoice Detail” form is defaulted to the invoice selected.
Status “All”, although rarely used in context of daily workflows, the option is available to assist on locating a perceived missing invoice, using known attributes other than invoice number. Please note that “All” includes cancelled invoices, however deleted invoices can only be located using the “Show Deleted Invoices” menu option located within the “Other” main menu option.